Top 10 of 2012!

Oh my goodness. The Oscars are this weekend and I still haven’t posted my top 10 list from last year!

So, every year I compile lots of top 10 lists from the critics that I like (NYT, Slate, Filmspotting, SlashFilm etc) into a master list of the years best films and then try to watch as many as I can. There are some important ones that I still haven’t watched, most notably The Master and Amour. Regardless, here’s my top ten so far. Overall, I think it was a great year, especially for genre movies. Even though I didn’t include many in my top 10, films like Hunger Games, Cabin the Woods, and Skyfall, and even The Avengers and Chronicle, were really fun to watch. With regards to the oscar nominees, I skipped Les Miserables and as mentioned, haven’t caught up a couple of the important ones. I enjoyed most of the frontrunners, with the exceptions of Zero Dark Thirty (I thought it was discombobulated, though the final scenes are incredible) and Beasts of the Southern Wild. Here’s my top 10:

  1. Footnote
  2. Django Unchained
  3. Holy Motors
  4. Argo
  5. Moonrise Kingdom
  6. Take this Waltz
  7. Bernie
  8. Lincoln (minus the first and last scenes. sentimentality much?)
  9. The Impossible
  10. Looper

Runners Up: Zero Dark Thirty (but only the last hour), Safety Not Guaranteed, The Hobbit, The Hunger Games, Secret World of Arriety. Skyfall, Life of Pi, The Cabin in the Woods

Leave a Reply

